Mar 27 2014

Harrow East Conservatives Elected Officers 2014-15

Harrow East Conservative Association is pleased to announce the new team of officers elected at the Associations Annual General Meeting that was held on 26th March 2014. The team is:

President – Councillor Christine Bednell

Chairman – Brian Jones

Deputy Chairman Political – Paul Stanley

Deputy Chairman Membership & Fundraising – David Ashton

Vice Chairman – Paul Greek

Vice Chairman – Councillor Ramji Chauhan

Treasurer – Jenny Mintoft

Past Association Chairman – Councillor Marilyn Ashton


(Front Row L-R – Brian Jones, Cllr Christine Bednell, Cllr Marilyn Ashton, Jenny Mintoft                                                                 Back Row L-R – Cllr Ramji Chauhan, Bob Blackman MP, Marina Yannakoudakis MEP, David Ashton, Paul Greek and Paul Stanley)

Nov 28 2013

Bob Blackman Business Breakfast Club Launched

Bob Blackman, MP for Harrow East, has launched a breakfast club as a forum for local businesses to come together, promote their products and services and encounter new opportunities for collaboration.

The inaugural event, which took place on Wednesday 20th November at the Travellers’ Rest in Kenton, had an over capacity attendance and a full English breakfast was enjoyed by all. Lord Dolar Popat attended as guest speaker and provided insights into the issues faced by businesses and information on grants and help available.

Bob Blackman, said: “It is important for a local MP to do everything possible help their local businesses, not only in Parliament but at home too. I am delighted that so many attended my inaugural Business Breakfast Club event and that lots of helpful connections were made between businesses. It shows there is a real appetite for this sort of forum and I look forwards to it going from strength to strength in the new year.”


(L-R – Mina Parmar, Lord Dolar Popat of Harrow, Bob Blackman, MP and attendees)

The club is being organised by Mina Parmar, the prospective Conservative Party candidate for Belmont Ward and already the Bob Blackman Business Club has meeting dates spanning across 2014 and a number of exciting speakers lined up.

The next breakfast will take place on Wednesday 22nd January at the same venue, with Ash Verma, entrepreneur, businessman and Chair of the Board of Directors for Harrow In Business, due to address the group.

Sep 20 2013

Harrow East Councillors Amongst New Cabinet Members



(L-R – Cllr Manji Kara, Cllr Stephen Greek, Cllr Tony Ferrari and Cllr Christine Bednell)

Harrow East Conservatives are delighted to announce the selection of Cllr Tony Ferrari (Harrow Weald Ward), Cllr Stephen Greek (Harrow Weald Ward) and Cllr Manji Kara (Belmont Ward) as Cabinet members and portfolio holders.

Cllr Ferrari will be the new portfolio holder for Finance with Cllr Greek taking over responsibility for the Planning, Development & Regeneration portfolio and Cllr Kara as the Community & Culture portfolio holder. Cllr Christine Bednell (Stanmore Park Ward) will serve as portfolio advisor to Cllr Janet Mote (Children & Schools).

Other cabinet members and portfolio holders for Harrow Council include:

Cllr Susan Hall (Leader) – Community Safety & Environment
Cllr Barry Macleod-Cullinane (Deputy Leader) – Adults & Housing
Cllr Kamaljit Chana – Business & Enterprise
Cllr Janet Mote – Children & Schools
Cllr Paul Osborne – Communications, Performance & Resources
Cllr Simon Williams – Health & Wellbeing
Cllr Stephen Wright – Property & Major Contracts