Councillors are elected, three in each ward to represent the people in the locality. As with any Borough the Group which controls the running of the Council, by the way of Cabinet Government, is the Group with the largest number of Councillors.

In Harrow East there are nine wards and there are 27 Councillors. The Conservatives won 14 out 27 seats on the Council in 2010. The other wards held by the Conservatives are in Pinner, Ruislip and Northwood constituency and there are 4 Conservative Councillors in the constituency of Harrow West. Therefore, at the moment Harrow Council is a Labour controlled Council.

For information on how to become a Councillor refer to “A Guide to Becoming a Conservative Councillor” by the Conservative Councillors Association.